Church Council

First Lutheran’s Church Council is responsible for the general oversight of the life and activities of the congregation. This includes issues related to worship, program ministries, finance, property, church employees, membership, etc. It is the highest governing authority for the parish after the congregation.

The Council consists of 12 members. Each member is elected to a three-year term at a congregational meeting. Terms are staggered so that 1/3 of the Council turns over each year. The Council reorganizes itself after each congregational meeting, electing officers and making committee assignments.

The officers include a President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Secretary. The officers and two at-large Council members (Finance and Personnel) comprise the Administration Committee, a group that meets prior to the monthly Council meetings to consider the business affairs of the church. The Vice President chairs Administration Committee meetings and the President chairs Council meetings.

Council members who are not officers serve as liaisons to the main committees of the church. These committees include:

  • Education
  • Evangelism
  • Finance
  • Personnel
  • Property
  • Social Ministry
  • Stewardship
  • Worship
  • Youth and Family

As liaisons, Council members participate as active members of these committees and report their efforts back to the Church Council.